General Hunting Information...

 

 

Hunting / General Information


 

New License Paper

 

New License Paper No Longer Weatherproof/Tear Proof

In an effort to reduce costs, hunting and fishing licenses will no longer be printed on weatherproof/tear-proof paper.

 

Protective License Holders – Special Consideration For Deer & Turkey Hunters

Immediately upon harvest of the animal or bird, hunters have a legal obligation to record the time and date of harvest on the temporary kill tag and attach it to the carcass – see current Hunting & Trapping Regulations for details. The information on the temporary kill tag must not be obliterated or made illegible by weather or environmental conditions. Therefore, hunters should at least have a zip lock clear plastic bag or other protective license holder in his or her possession in order to protect the temporary kill tag from harm, and to help secure it to the carcass. The Ohio Division of Wildlife does not provide protective license holders.

License Agents may choose to sell protective license holders to our mutual customers, but may not require customers to purchase a license holder or any other product or service as a condition of sale of hunting and/or fishing licenses.

 

Lamination – Do Not Laminate Deer or Turkey Permits

The Ohio Division of Wildlife encourages hunters and anglers to carry licenses and permits in a protective pouch. Another option is lamination. License Agents who choose to provide lamination services to our mutual customers must abide by the following rules:

1.    License Agents may not require customers to purchase lamination services (or any other product or service) as a condition of sale of hunting and/or fishing licenses.

2.    License Agents who use heat-activated lamination machines must use a heat setting of 215 degrees or lower, otherwise it will destroy the license.

3.    Do not laminate deer or turkey permits/tags. Deer and turkey hunters are required to fill-in certain information on the temporary kill-tag before attaching it to the carcass – see “License Holders” above.


 

Concealed Carry

A person possessing a valid Concealed Carry license may carry their concealed weapon while hunting, but it may not be used to shoot, shoot at, or kill any wild animal. For more information go to www.ag.state.oh.us.


 

Hunting with Permission

The landowner’s written permission is required for hunting and trapping on private land, regardless of whether the land is posted. Permission slips are available at Division of Wildlife district offices and at wildohio.com.

The Penalty for Hunting Without Written Permission

The maximum penalty for hunting without written permission of the landowner for a first offense is 60 days in jail and a $500 fine. The maximum penalty for a second offense is 90 days in jail and a $750 fine.

A person must carry written permission at all times while engaging in hunting or trapping on private land and exhibit it upon request to a state wildlife officer, sheriff, deputy sheriff, police officer, other law enforcement officer, owner of the land, or the landowner’s authorized agent.

Download the Permission to Hunt Form


 

Hunting Methods

Unless otherwise indicated, game may be taken with longbow, crossbow, or any caliber handgun, rifle, shotgun (10 gauge or smaller), or airgun. Be safe and choose the appropriate method for the species.

Game birds and game quadrupeds (except wild boar) may not be taken by trapping.

Electronic callers may be used while hunting, except while hunting migratory game birds (waterfowl, rails, and shorebirds) and wild turkeys. It is lawful to use electronic callers for crow hunting.

It shall be unlawful to use any device capable of transmitting or receiving a person’s voice to aid in the hunting or taking of deer.

Spotlighting of wild animals from vehicles, including illuminating with headlights, is prohibited. Spotlighting is illegal whether hunting implements are carried in the vehicle or not.

Persons hunting, trapping, or pursuing furbearing animals at night must carry a continuous white light visible for at least 1/4 mile. When two or more persons are hunting or trapping together for furbearing animals, only one light is required and may be carried by any member of the party. Persons hunting foxes, coyotes, or raccoon with a call from a stationary position may use a single beam light of any color.

It is unlawful to possess a hunting device while training or working a dog pursuing coyotes from sunset to sunrise.

All hunting from motor vehicles, except boats and machinery being used in farm operations, is prohibited. Hunting small game and furbearers except mink, muskrat, otter, and beaver is lawful from a boat or powercraft. All hunting from aircraft is prohibited.

It is unlawful to shoot from, on, across, or along a public road or highway.

During the statewide muzzleloader season and youth deer gun season it is unlawful to hunt legal game with shot shells containing shot larger than #4. Waterfowl hunters must use nontoxic shot of any size.

During the youth deer gun season, deer gun season, deer gun weekend, and the muzzleloader deer seasons all hunters must visibly wear a vest, jacket, coat, or coveralls that are solid hunter orange or hunter orange camo, except waterfowl hunters.

Longbows and crossbows may be used to take legal game. However, crossbows may not be used to hunt migratory game birds. Longbow hunters may use a hand-held mechanical release or a mechanical device with a working safety. Crossbows may be cocked with a device, but must have a working safety and a stock more than 25 inches long.

Arrows for longbow and crossbow must be tipped with a broadhead not less than 3/4 inch wide while hunting deer or turkey. The arrow tip must have a minimum of two cutting edges which may be exposed or unexposed.

It is unlawful to hunt deer or turkey with a longbow having a draw weight of less than 40 pounds, or with a crossbow having a draw weight of less than 75 pounds.

Poisoned or explosive arrows are unlawful. While hunting, it is unlawful to have attached to a longbow or crossbow any mechanical, electrical, or electronic device capable of projecting a beam of light.

 

 

Public Hunting Lands

It is unlawful for any person to use a rifle, pistol, revolver, shotgun or other firearm at any time on any land or water area, controlled or administered by the Division of Wildlife except while lawfully trapping, or hunting wild animals, or target practicing on a designated Division of Wildlife target range.

It shall be unlawful for any person to distribute, place, or scatter salt, grain, or other feed capable of luring, enticing, or attracting birds on lands owned, controlled, or maintained by the wildlife division including those lands managed by the division by virtue of a lease or an agreement.

Portions of Deer Creek, Killdeer Plains, Resthaven, Lake La Su An, Berlin Lake, Big Island, Delaware, Grand River, Brush Creek, Waterloo, Cooper Hollow, East Fork, Woodbury, Spring Valley, and Fallsville wildlife areas will be open for disabled persons with severe mobility impairments to drive their cars, trucks, or an Electrically Powered All Purpose Vehicle to designated interior areas for hunting. Disabled persons are required to have an Electric Powered All Purpose Vehicle Permit. Find more information or download a permit application.

It is unlawful to hunt with or possess any shot except nontoxic shot at Metzger Marsh, Mallard Club, Pipe Creek, Magee Marsh, Toussaint, and Little Portage wildlife areas.

All hunting and trapping on Magee Marsh Wildlife Area is by permit only.


 

On All Wildlife Areas

It is illegal to sit, stand, or otherwise be in contact with oil or gas production or transmission wells, pumps, tanks, pipes, and other equipment.

Roadside camping is prohibited on all state wildlife areas. Primitive campgrounds are located on Woodbury, Tycoon, Wolf Creek, and Monroe wildlife areas.

On Auburn Marsh Wildlife Area it is unlawful to use a rifle, pistol, revolver, or a shotgun using slugs at any time. Deer hunting at Auburn Marsh Wildlife Area is lawful using archery equipment only.

All wildlife areas are closed to all activity other than hunting, trapping, and fishing from 8 p.m. to 6 a.m. September 1 through May 1 and from 10 p.m. to 6 a.m. May 2 through August 31.

Beaver and river otter trapping are prohibited on all state public hunting areas including state parks and forests without a special permit from the Division of Wildlife. Consult our district offices or website for information on how these permits can be obtained.

State parks have special hunting and trapping regulations. Some are not open to hunting or trapping. A permit is required to build a duck blind on state park lakes. Consult the Division of Parks and Recreation, 2045 Morse Rd., Columbus, Ohio 43229; phone (614) 265-6561, or the park manager.

It is unlawful to operate or park any vehicle on properties administered by the Division of Wildlife except on designated roads and parking areas.


 

Deer Hunter’s Checklist:

 

Avoid Problems, Be Prepared!

1.    Get the landowner’s permission to hunt.

2.    Buy your annual hunting license and deer permit early.

3.    Make sure your gun is plugged and not capable of holding more than three (3) shells.

4.    Make sure you meet hunter orange requirements.

5.    Know how to attach your temporary tag. Carry a piece of string, watch, and pencil or pen.

6.    Know the rules for use of communication devices.

7.    Know your APV laws.

8.    Know the season dates, hours, and Deer Zones.

9.    Follow proper check station procedures.

10.  Hunt safely!

11.  After hunting, check carefully for small, dark crawling or attached ticks and remove immediately.

 


Hunter Orange Requirement

Hunting any wild animal (except waterfowl) from 1/2 hour before sunrise to sunset during the youth deer gun season, deer gun season, deer gun weekend, the statewide muzzleloader deer season, and on designated areas during the early muzzleloader deer season is unlawful unless the hunter is visibly wearing a vest, coat, jacket, or coveralls that are either solid hunter orange or camouflage hunter orange. This requirement applies statewide on both public and private land.

 

hunter orange vests

 


 

 

Deer Hunting Hours

Archery season hours are 1/2 hour before sunrise to 1/2 hour after sunset except during deer gun season.

Deer gun season, youth deer gun season, the early muzzleloader season, and statewide muzzleloader season hours for deer hunting are 1/2 hour before sunrise to sunset.

 


 

Deer Tagging

Every person who kills a deer must immediately fill out the temporary tag with the date and time the deer was killed. Attach the completed temporary tag to the deer at the place where it fell.

Licenses and permits will need to be protected from the elements. You may choose to purchase a reusable license/tag protective holder if available at the license vendor or many office supply stores or make your own. Attach a piece of string, wire, etc. to your temporary tag and protective holder before you hunt. Carry a pen or pencil and a watch with you to fill out your temporary tag. The temporary tag must remain on the deer until it is permanently tagged. Once a temporary tag is detached from the permit, it is illegal to hunt or pursue deer with a hunting device without purchasing an additional valid deer permit (See Concealed Carry information).

For multiple deer permit holders, the first deer taken in the day must have been temporarily tagged before hunting or pursuing another deer.

Hunters with deer permits must use the temporary tag from the permit. Landowners and tenants who take a deer on their land and any other person not required to purchase a deer permit must make and attach their own tag with their name, address, and date and time killed. This tag must be attached to the dead deer immediately in the field at the place were it fell.

temporary tagtemporary tagtemporary tag

deer taggingdeer taggingdeer tagging

  • Protect your deer permit from the elements by placing them in a plastic bag or protective pouch before you hunt.
  • Every person who kills a deer must immediately fill out the temporary tag.
  • Attach the completed, protected temporary tag to the deer with string, twist-tie, or wire at the place where it fell.
  • Complete the automated game-check process. The 18-digit permanent tag number MUST be written on the permanent tag(s) in the spaces provided.
  • Detach the permanent tag and place it in a plastic bag or protective pouch.
  • The completed permanent tag MUST be attached to the deer. The temporary tag can be discarded.

 


 

Deer Checking: Automated Game Check & Permanent Tagging

The automated game check and permanent tagging process no longer requires hunters to transport their deer to an official game-check station for permanent tagging. License agents will process game-check transactions, but will not visually inspect or permanently tag deer on behalf of hunters.

Metal tags have been discontinued. Hunters will not receive a metal tag for their deer.

Hunters are encouraged to complete the automated game check and permanent tagging process in a sheltered area.

The hunter must complete the automated game check and permanent tagging process by 12:00 p.m. (noon) the day after the kill or 11:30 p.m. the last day of the season.

Hunters must have their permit with the attached permanent tag in hand to complete the game-check and permanent tagging proces. Hunters can complete the automated game check and permanent tagging process in one of three ways:

Regardless of the game check method, the hunter must provide the 10-digit permit number, which is printed in large numbers on every permit.

The hunter must answer a series of questions like those traditionally asked at game check stations. At the end of the process, the hunter will be issued an 18-digit permanent tag number. The first six digits are pre-printed on the permanent tag(s). When a hunter has game checked their deer by Web or agent, they will receive a game check receipt with their permanent tag number printed on it. Hunters using the telephone game check method will receive the final 12 digits of the number over the phone. The first six digits are pre-printed on the permanent tag(s).

The 18-digit permanent tag number must be written on the permanent tag(s) in the spaces provided on the permanent tag(s). Remember, the first six digits are pre-printed on the permanent tag(s). The hunter must write the date and time of kill on the permanent tag and sign it.

DEER HUNTERS must write the permanent tag number on BOTH permanent tags. The completed permanent tag must then be attached to the deer. The temporary tag can be discarded. The game check and permanent tagging process is complete.

 


 

Deer Checking: LANDOWNERS

For hunters who are NOT REQUIRED to have deer permits:

As in the past, landowners and tenants who take a deer on their land and any other person not required to have a deer permit must make and attach their own temporary tag. The temporary tag must include the name and address of the hunter and the date and time the animal was killed.

1.    The landowner hunter must immediately attach the homemade temporary tag to the deer at the place where it fell. Once this step is completed, the hunter is free to transport it.

2.    The hunter must complete the automated game check and permanent tagging process by 12:00 p.m. (noon) the day after the kill or 11:30 p.m. the last day of each season.

The automated game check and permanent tagging process no longer requires hunters to transport their deer to an official game check station for permanent tagging. License agents will process game check transactions, but will not visually inspect or permanently tag deer on behalf of hunters.

Metal tags have been discontinued. Hunters will not receive a metal tag for their deer.

Landowners CANNOT use the telephone game-check option!

Game check options for the landowner are:

 

game checkgame check

To game check a harvest online, make sure to use a computer connected to a printer. A game check receipt will be issued and MUST be printed. When using a smartphone for game check, you must access your customer account at wildohio.com when you are at a computer, click on the Game Check button, and print your game check receipt.

 

At the time of the game check, the automated game check system will attempt to determine if the hunter has an existing customer ID using the hunter's last name, date of birth, and the last 4-digits of their SSN. If the system cannot find the hunter's account, a new one will be created.

The resident landowner hunter must answer a series of questions like those tradtionally asked at game check stations. When a landowner hunter has game checked their deer by Web or agent, they will receive a game check receipt with their permanent tag(s) and permanent tag number printed on it. The landowner hunter will be issued an 18-digit permanent tag number. The first six digits are pre-printed on the permanent tag(s).

The 18-digit permanent tag number must be written on the permanent tag(s) in the spaces provided. The first six digits are pre-printed on ther permanent tag(s). The hunter must write the date and time of kill on the permanent tag and sign it.

DEER HUNTERS must write the permanent tag number on both permanent tags. The completed permanent tag must then be attached to the deer. The temporary tag can then be discarded. The game check and permanent tagging process is complete.

 



Tree Stands

It is unlawful to construct, place or use a permanent-type tree stand, or to place spikes, nails, wires or other metal objects into a tree to act as steps or to hold a tree stand on public hunting lands. It is also unlawful to make any of these changes to trees on private property without first getting the permission of the landowner or the landowner’s authorized agent. Tree stands and deer blinds must be removed from public hunting areas by the last day of the deer archery season.

 


 

Allowable Hunting Equipment
 

Hunters cannot carry more than one implement while hunting deer. See Concealed Carry information.


Archery Season
:Open Statewide

Longbow or Bow: minimum draw weight 40 lbs. This would include compound bows and recurve bows. The arrow tuo shall have a minimum of two cutting edges which may be exposed or unexposed and minimim 3/4-inch width. Expandable and mechanical broadheads are legal. Poisoned or explosive arrows are illegal.

Crossbow: draw weight not less than 75 lbs. The arrow tip shall have a minimum of two cutting edges which may be exposed or unexposed and minimim 3/4-inch width. Expandable and mechanical broadheads are legal. Poisoned or explosive arrows are illegal.

 

Early Muzzleloader Season: Only at Wildcat Hollow, Salt Fork Wildlife Area, & Shawnee State Forest

Muzzleloading rifle: .38 caliber or larger

Muzzleloading shotgun: 10-gauge or smaller using one ball per barrel

Longbow or Bow: minimum draw weight 40 lbs. This would include compound bows and recurve bows. The arrow two shall have a minimum of two cutting edges which may be exposed or unexposed and minimim 3/4-inch width. Expandable and mechanical broadheads are legal. Poisoned or explosive arrows are illegal.

Crossbow: draw weight not less than 75 lbs. The arrow tip shall have a minimum of two cutting edges which may be exposed or unexposed and minimim 3/4-inch width. Expandable and mechanical broadheads are legal. Poisoned or explosive arrows are illegal.

 

Gun Season and Youth Gun Season: Open Statewide

Shotgun: 10-gauge or smaller shotgun using one ball or one rifled slug per barrel (rifled shotgun barrels are permitted when using shotgun slug ammunition). Shotguns cannot be capable of holding more than three shells.

Muzzleloading rifle: .38 caliber or larger

Muzzleloading shotgun: 10-gauge or smaller using one ball per barrel

Handgun: with 5-inch minimum length barrel, using straight-walled cartridges .357 caliber or larger.

Longbow or Bow: minimum draw weight 40 lbs. This would include compound bows and recurve bows. The arrow tuo shall have a minimum of two cutting edges which may be exposed or unexposed and minimim 3/4-inch width. Expandable and mechanical broadheads are legal. Poisoned or explosive arrows are illegal.

Crossbow: draw weight not less than 75 lbs. The arrow tip shall have a minimum of two cutting edges which may be exposed or unexposed and minimim 3/4-inch width. Expandable and mechanical broadheads are legal. Poisoned or explosive arrows are illegal.

 

Muzzleloader Season: Open Statewide

Muzzleloading rifle: .38 caliber or larger

Muzzleloading shotgun: 10-gauge or smaller using one ball per barrel

Longbow or Bow: minimum draw weight 40 lbs. This would include compound bows and recurve bows. The arrow tuo shall have a minimum of two cutting edges which may be exposed or unexposed and minimim 3/4-inch width. Expandable and mechanical broadheads are legal. Poisoned or explosive arrows are illegal.

Crossbow: draw weight not less than 75 lbs. The arrow tip shall have a minimum of two cutting edges which may be exposed or unexposed and minimim 3/4-inch width. Expandable and mechanical broadheads are legal. Poisoned or explosive arrows are illegal

See legal definitions of hunting equipment.

 


A Deer Hunter CANNOT do any of the following:

 

1.    Hunt or take a deer with a shotgun capable of holding more than three shells. This means you may not hunt with a shotgun capable of holding more than three shells, unless it is plugged with a one-piece filler
which limits the capacity of the gun to three shells. The filler must be such that it cannot be removed without disassembling the gun.

2.    Hunt with any rifle or possess rifle ammunition during the deer gun, the youth deer gun, the early muzzleloader hunts (Salt Fork Wildlife Area, Wildcat Hollow, and Shawnee State Forest), and the statewide muzzleloader seasons other than a muzzleloading rifle .38 caliber or larger.

3.    Hunt or take a deer with a gun or possess a loaded firearm while going to and from deer hunting during the deer gun, youth deer gun, and the statewide muzzleloader seasons, at anytime other than 1/2 hour before sunrise to sunset. NOTE: Muzzleloading firearms are considered unloaded when the cap is removed or priming powder is removed from the pan or when the battery is removed on electronic systems.

4.    Carry a handgun while hunting deer during the early muzzleloader season (on designated areas), the statewide muzzleloader season, and archery season; have more than one firearm while hunting deer; carry a handgun being used during hunting in a concealed manner. Except as noted in number 11 of the Hunter Can Do section.

5.    Use a muzzleloading handgun for deer hunting.

6.    Hunt deer with a longbow having a draw weight of less than 40 pounds, or with a crossbow having a draw weight of less than 75 pounds. Expandable and mechanical broadheads are legal. Poisoned or explosive arrows are illegal.

7.    Carry a firearm while deer hunting with a longbow or crossbow. Except as noted in number 11 of the "A Deer Hunter Can Do the Following" section.

8.    Have attached to a longbow or crossbow any mechanical, electrical or electronic device capable of projecting a beam of light.

9.    Use dogs to hunt deer. Leashed dogs may be used to track wounded deer.

10.  Possess shotgun shells containing shot during the deer gun season, unless waterfowl hunting when the season is open or as explained in number 8 of the "A Deer Hunter Can Do the Following" section.

11.  Hunt coyote or boar between sunset and 1/2 hour before sunrise during deer gun, the youth deer gun, the early muzzleloader hunts (Salt Fork Wildlife Area, Wildcat Hollow, and Shawnee State Forest), and the statewide muzzleloader season.

12.  Use any device capable of transmitting or receiving a person’s voice to aid in the hunting or taking of deer.

13.  Pursue wounded deer or other wild animals or recover dead deer or other wild animals from private property without the written permission of the landowner.

14.  Carry the deer permit of another person.

15.  Receive or possess a deer or parts of a deer unless such deer or deer part is tagged as required or unless the deer or part of a deer has a statement showing when and where legally taken, the date received, and from whom received; or an Ohio Division of Wildlife tag, seal, or certificate or other proof of ownership which shows the deer was killed by a motor vehicle in Ohio; or an official tag or seal and valid nonresident license issued by another state if taken from outside Ohio; or certificate of ownership or receipt issued by a wildlife officer. Shed antlers, if found, do not require a certificate of ownership or receipt by a wildlife officer.

16.  Construct, place or use a permanent-type tree stand, or to place spikes, nails, wires or other metal objects into a tree to act as steps or to hold a tree stand on public hunting lands. It is also unlawful to make any of these changes to trees on private property without first getting the permission of the landowner or the landowner’s authorized agent.

 


 

A Hunter CAN do the following:

1.    Aid or assist another hunter who is hunting deer if the temporary tag has been removed from their deer permit, he or she does not carry any hunting implement commonly used to kill wild animals, and has a valid hunting license. Those persons exempted from having a hunting license and deer permits for deer hunting on their property are required to have a hunting license and deer permit to aid another hunter off of their property or hunt deer off of their property.

2.    Use certain handguns during the youth deer gun season and deer gun season. These handguns must: (a) have a barrel length of not less than 5 inches, (b) use straight-walled cartridges (no shoulder/ neck; straight-tapered wall is acceptable) and (c) be .357 caliber or larger.

3.    Leave a deer or deer parts with a taxidermist, fur buyer, cold storage, locker plant, or meat processing plant as long as a tag or seal is attached to it that lists the owner’s name and address and the date and place where the deer was killed. Persons receiving deer from another person must keep records with the owner’s name and address, the date, time, and place where the deer was legally taken and the date it was received.

4.    Take more than one deer per day as long as each deer has been tagged with a temporary tag before hunting for the next deer.

5.    Hunt deer over bait except on public land.

6.    Possess a communication device as long as you do not use the device to aid a person in pursuing or taking of deer.

7.    Hunt coyote and wild boar during the deer gun season and statewide muzzleloader deer season with a hunting license and a valid deer permit, using firearms legal for deer hunting while visibly wearing a vest, coat, jacket or coverall colored solid hunter orange or camouflage hunter orange. A valid deer permit is a deer permit, with temporary tag attached, and valid for the zone or unit being hunted.

8.    Hunt other wild animals other than deer, coyotes, or wild boar during the Saturday, December 15, 2012 and Sunday, December 16, 2012 gun season, as long as they possess no shot shells larger than number four shot and comply with hunter orange requirements. No one may hunt with a rifle other than a muzzleloading rifle legal for deer, or posses rifle ammunition.

9.    Use a leashed dog to recover wounded deer.

10.  Deer archery hunt during the youth deer gun season, if the archery hunter is not accompanying a hunter participating in the youth deer gun season and is wearing hunter orange (See Youth Deer Gun Season.)

11.  Concealed Carry: A person possessing a valid Concealed Carry licensed may carry their concealed weapon while hunting, but it may not be used to shoot, shoot at, or kill any wild animal. For more information go to ag.state.oh.us.

 



Hunting Other Game During the Youth Deer Gun, Deer Gun, and Muzzleloader Seasons

 

Youth Deer Gun Season It is lawful to hunt legal game and furbearers (including coyote and wild boar). It is unlawful to use or possess slugs except youth hunters hunting deer. Waterfowl hunting and the night hunting of furbearers is also permitted when the season is open, however, you cannot hunt coyote or boar between sunset and 1/2 hour before sunrise during any of the deer gun/muzzleloader seasons. All persons (except waterfowl hunters) hunting or accompanying a youth hunter during the youth deer gun season are required to wear hunter orange. Archery deer hunters may hunt until 1/2 hour after sunset during the youth deer gun season and are required to wear hunter orange.

Deer Gun Season - During the seven-day deer gun season (Nov. 26, 2012 - Dec. 2, 2012) it is unlawful to hunt any wild animal except deer, coyote, wild boar, or waterfowl statewide from 1/2 hour before sunrise to sunset. Hunters (except waterfowl hunters) must possess a deer permit with the temporary tag attached that is valid for the zone or unit being hunted. Hunters may not possess rifle ammunition or shot shells (except waterfowl hunters), however, hunters using a muzzleloading rifle; .38 caliber or larger may possess ammunition for that rifle. Furbearers, except coyote and wild boar, can be hunted from sunset to 1/2 hour before sunrise when the deer gun season is open. All persons (except waterfowl hunters) hunting during the deer gun season are required to wear hunter orange.

Statewide Muzzleloader Deer Season - It is lawful to hunt legal game and furbearers (including coyote and wild boar) with shot shells containing shot no larger than #4 (except waterfowl hunters may use larger nontoxic shot). If you are hunting coyote or boar during the statewide muzzleloader deer season with a device that is lawful for deer hunting, you must also have a deer permit with the temporary tag attached that is valid for the zone or unit being hunted. Waterfowl hunting and the night hunting of furbearers is also permitted when the season is open, however, you cannot hunt coyote or boar between sunset and 1/2 hour before sunrise during any of the deer gun/muzzleloader seasons. All persons (except waterfowl hunters) hunting during the statewide muzzleloader deer gun season are required to wear hunter orange.