Ohio New Laws for All-Purpose Vehicles...
Information on the new laws in the State of Ohio involving the ownership and use of all-purpose vehicles.
Whether you ride an ATV, a scooter, a mini-bike or own your own personal golf cart, you will want to read this new law very carefully, because it could affect you!!
Effective July 1, 2010, There are new laws governing the ownership and use of all-purpose vehicles (APVs). The law’s license plate program will require APVs to display a license plate and validation sticker like other vehicles. APV operators will pay higher registration fees, but on-farm APVs used as a farm implement will be exempt from registration.
to Ohio law, an “all-purpose vehicle” is “any self-propelled vehicle
designed primarily for cross-country travel on land and water, or on more than
one type of terrain, and steered by wheels or caterpillar treads, or any
combination thereof, including vehicles that operate on a cushion of air,
vehicles commonly known as all-terrain vehicles, all-season vehicles,
mini-bikes, and trail bikes.” The definition of “all-purpose vehicle” does
not include golf carts or utility vehicles that are designed to transport
materials or cargo.
is a summary of the new law that will go into effect on July 1.
trespass with APVs. The
law contains stiffer penalties for criminal trespass that involves an APV.
Criminal trespass is the entering or remaining on another’s land without
permission or privilege, and is a fourth degree misdemeanor punishable by a fine
of up to $250 and jail time of up to 30 days. Under the new law, when a person
commits criminal trespass using an APV, a court must double the fine. Where a
person is convicted three times of criminal trespass using an APV, the court may
also impound the registration and license plate of the vehicle for at least 60
exceptions. Ohio law
currently requires registration of APVs, snowmobiles and off-highway
motorcycles, with a few exceptions. The new law changes the exceptions that
apply to APVs in two ways. First, the new law removes the registration exception
for APVs operated exclusively upon lands owned by the owner or on lands to which
the owner has a contractual right. This exception from registration will apply
only to snowmobiles and off-highway motorcycles. Second, the law creates a new
registration exception for APVs: an owner does not have to register an APV that
is used primarily on a farm as a farm implement. The law also increases the
penalties for operating an unregistered APV, snowmobile or off-highway
motorcycle to no less than $50 and no more than $100.
plate requirements. The
new law requires operators of APVs to display a license plate and validation
sticker rather than a registration number after July 1, 2010. An owner must
display the license plate so that it is “distinctly visible” and in
accordance with rules to be adopted by the Board of Motor Vehicles (BMV). After
an owner obtains a license plate, the BMV will issue a new validation sticker to
display on the license plate for each three-year registration period. The new
license plate provision does not affect snowmobiles or off-highway motorcycles.
fees. The new law
increases the registration fees for APVs, snowmobiles and off-highway
motorcycles from $5 to $31.25 for the three-year registration period. The
registrar may retain up to $5 of the fee and must deposit the remainder into the
state treasury for the state recreational vehicle fund, which also receives
amounts from fines issued under the law. Purposes of the fund include enforcing
and administering laws regarding registration and operation of snowmobiles,
off-highway motorcycles, and APVs, purchasing additional land to provide trails
and other areas for such vehicles on state-controlled land and waters, and
providing safety programs.
of state driver’s licenses.
The old law requires the operator of an APV, snowmobile or off-highway
motorcycle to hold a valid driver’s license from the State of Ohio. The new
law allows a person holding a driver’s license from another state to operate
The new law allows a court to impound the registration and license plate of an
APV for no less than 60 days whenever a person is found guilty of operating the
vehicle in violation of Ohio law.
these Ohio Revised Code sections at http://codes.ohio.gov/orc/
for changes to APV law: O.R.C. 2911.21, 4519.02, 4519.03, 4519.04, 4519.08,
4519.09, 4519.10, 4519.44, and 4519.47.
Here is some more info for riders of ATV's in Ohio.
ranks 15th in the nation for ATV accidents. Yearly, an estimated 40,000
emergency-room cases are reported nationwide; one third of all injuries are to
children less than 16 years of age. The state has developed strategies and
programs to reduce injuries and deaths related to careless, inappropriate and
risky ATV use.
ATV riding depends on the rider’s ability to recognize hazardous riding
conditions. It is possible to determine how safe a ride will be by first
evaluating the rider’s personal abilities, the ATV capabilities, and then the
terrain and environmental conditions.
is not enough to just ride safely! There are certain laws that apply to riders.
The following Ohio laws were created to provide an understanding between ATV
riders and enforcement officers concerning the proper way to act while riding
off-road. These laws protect people, property and the sport of ATV riding.
order to operate an ATV on any public land, waters or highways, one must hold a
current motor vehicle driver’s or commercial driver’s license, motorcycle
operator’s endorsement or probationary license.
All riders (passengers and operator) must wear a helmet and eye protection while on state forest riding areas.
person under 16 years of age shall operate an ATV on any land other than private
property unless accompanied by a parent or guardian who is a licensed driver 18
years of age or older.
not recommended, Ohio law permits ATV operators to:
states that ATVs shall not be operated as follows:
opportunities for exciting travel with your recreation vehicle are in your
hands. Take the pledge to tread lightly by: